| Potential Data Loss warning!!
2 main reasons for this:
1) publish to new place
2) publish to same place, but data does not match
1) Not publishing to the same place
This warning appears anytime you use a previously published tlx file and are not publishing it to the same place as you did last time.
Ex: A tlx file is published to a website (samisite.com). then copied. modified. and now ready to be a subdirectory of the same site (samisite.com/photos/). The file will remember where it went last time so will warn that the address does not match.
Ex: A tlx file was published to hostA. Their service deteriorates, you add a new hostB and assign it to the tlx file. The tlx file will remember that it went to hostA last time it was published.
In both examples, the warning just lets you know that if you choose to go ahead and publish, the memory of the previous location will be lost. That's good! You want the file to forget the main directory/hostA.
If you want the file to remember hostA so you can publish to both hosts, make a copy of the file before publishing to the new host. Copying the file is as simple as FILE SAVE AS give it a new name. You would then have 2 tlx files. One going to hostA, one going to hostB
2) Publishing to the same place, but still got the error
The TlxTransfer.txt file on your web site does not match the data in your tlx desgn file. Happens most often when your publishing process was interrupted. That TlxTransfer.txt file is VITAL to updates. When you connect to your site with CSB the txt file is read and compared to the internal index in your design file. If you use a backup file, the data will not match the txt file on the web, or if during a publish process that file was damaged or truncated...etc.
CHECK THESE THINGS:
- the file you want to publish is the most CURRENT version of the file
- UNCHECK the option checked to publish to local HTML folder (that's for previewing and can interfere with publishing some files)
- Review the publishing settings...make sure you are not sending the file to a different directory/subdirectory than you had before.
If you have done that, the program will just update the site. Nothing lost.
- SOMETIMES only a couple pages have to be updated if the txt file is only slightly out of sync with the design file.
- OTHER TIMES the WHOLE FILE will reload.
Now way to tell before you do it.
REMEMBER to FILE SAVE AS and give your file a new name every now and then to compact the file and keep the code as trim and clean as possible. This also gives you a backup file in case the file is corrupted.